Information on:

Chestertown Farmers Market

High and Cross Street
410-639-7217

History:

It's well established that the current incarnation of the Saturday morning farmer's market began in 1981, after a group of local farmers wanted an outlet for their organic produce. On the urging of Jamie Gaudion of Quaker Neck Landing, then Mayor Elmer Horsey and Town Manager Bill Ingersoll set aside the Park Row side of Fountain Park for vendors, and, under the leadership of Owen McCoy, the market has become one of the town's institutions. It has twice been voted "Best in Maryland" in an annual contest sponsored by the American Farmland Trust.

But as older residents will recall, there were vendors in the park before that. In the 1940s and '50s, "hucksters" would bring seafood or produce to the park on Saturdays, often selling their wares from horse-drawn wagons. While the practice faded out in the 1960s, most local historians would have guessed it originated well before the advent of supermarkets - in the previous century, if not even earlier. And, like many aspects of daily life, it was taken for granted and not much noted by historians or official records.

Season: Summer, Fall

Market Hours:

3rd Saturday in March - Last Saturday in December, 2017
Saturdays, 8 am to 12 pm

Location: Fountain Park - High Street at South Cross Street


Chestertown Farmers Market is not affiliated with AmericanTowns Media

Upcoming Events at Chestertown Farmers Market

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Jun 23, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Jun 30, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Jul 7, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Jul 14, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Jul 21, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Jul 28, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Aug 4, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Aug 11, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Aug 18, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Aug 25, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Sep 1, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Sep 8, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Sep 15, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Sep 22, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Sep 29, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Oct 6, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Oct 13, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Oct 20, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Oct 27, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Nov 3, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Nov 10, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Nov 17, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Nov 24, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Dec 1, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Dec 8, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Dec 15, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »

Chestertown Farmers Market

Saturday, Dec 22, 2018 from 8:00am to 12:00pm
Fountain Park
Chestertown, MD
Read More »