Takoma Park Farmers Market


History:

Organized in 1982, the Takoma Park Farmers Market was the Washington area's first Sunday market and an early pioneer in the "producers-only" movement.

When the market opened, in mid-summer 1983, it featured about a half dozen farmers and only partly filled the north side of Laurel Ave. Customers were few and sales were modest. Today almost two dozen producers line both sides of Laurel Avenue, and the market attracts thousands of people weekly to shop at its burgeoning stands.

Along the way, the market has greatly expanded the range and availability of the products it offers-from heirloom tomatoes and variegated sweet corn to free-range eggs and exotic bouquets.

But some things, happily, have remained unchanged. Two of the original vendors continue to sell at the Takoma Park Farmers Market: Potomac Vegetable Farms and Twin Springs Fruit Farm. 

Market Hours:

Year Round
Sunday, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Location:  Laurel Avenue, Takoma Park


Reviews

Erin Ballentine

Rating:
Friday, April 28, 2017

Lots of vendors. Everyone was so nice. Super fresh veggies and tons of cute stores nearby!

Buddy McLaughlin

Rating:
Saturday, May 6, 2017

Really awesome. Lots of vendors, lots of merchandise. Good prices and it runs all year like clockwork.

Westlake Financial

Rating:
Saturday, Feb. 4, 2017

Must go if your looking for the freshest food directly from the farmer. Great for veggies, meats and awesome cheese!

Luis R. Durand

Rating:
Monday, March 6, 2017

NIce friendly seller, lots good fresh produce, I fell like old town market

Elisa Ferrante

Rating:
Sunday, Jan. 22, 2017

Very nice farmers market with a good selection of vendors, covering just about anything you might need.


Upcoming Events at Takoma Park Farmers Market

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Jun 4, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Jun 11, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Jun 18, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Jun 25, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Jul 2, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Jul 9, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Jul 16, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Jul 23, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Jul 30, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Aug 6, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »