Takoma Park Farmers Market


History:

Organized in 1982, the Takoma Park Farmers Market was the Washington area's first Sunday market and an early pioneer in the "producers-only" movement.

When the market opened, in mid-summer 1983, it featured about a half dozen farmers and only partly filled the north side of Laurel Ave. Customers were few and sales were modest. Today almost two dozen producers line both sides of Laurel Avenue, and the market attracts thousands of people weekly to shop at its burgeoning stands.

Along the way, the market has greatly expanded the range and availability of the products it offers-from heirloom tomatoes and variegated sweet corn to free-range eggs and exotic bouquets.

But some things, happily, have remained unchanged. Two of the original vendors continue to sell at the Takoma Park Farmers Market: Potomac Vegetable Farms and Twin Springs Fruit Farm. 

Market Hours:

Year Round
Sunday, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Location:  Laurel Avenue, Takoma Park


Reviews

Randy Hull

Rating:
Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Great produce. Great people. Family friendly

Erin Ballentine

Rating:
Friday, April 28, 2017

Lots of vendors. Everyone was so nice. Super fresh veggies and tons of cute stores nearby!

Buddy McLaughlin

Rating:
Saturday, May 6, 2017

Really awesome. Lots of vendors, lots of merchandise. Good prices and it runs all year like clockwork.

Stephen Bradford

Rating:
Monday, June 12, 2017

Best Farmer's market in the DC area! Great produce, wonderful people, good prices.

Karen Blonder

Rating:
Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Great farmer's market in DC area...with a wide variety of vendors.


Upcoming Events at Takoma Park Farmers Market

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Jul 30, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Aug 6, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Aug 13, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Aug 20, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Aug 27, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Sep 3, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Sep 10, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Sep 17, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Sep 24, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Oct 1, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Oct 8, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Oct 15, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »

Takoma Park Farmers Market

Sunday, Oct 22, 2017 at 10:00am
Takoma Park Farmers Market
Read More »